Kicking it With the Letter “K”

July 3, 2014 at 3:13 pm (The Whim) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

brush-calligraphy-alphabet-kYou may have noticed a meme going around that goes something like this:

Say your favourite book, author, song, film, and object beginning with a particular letter. And that letter will be randomly assigned to you by me, via random.org. If you’d like to join in, comment in the comment section and I’ll tell you your letter! (And then, of course, the chain can keep going on your blog.)

From So Many Books I was issued the letter K.  After a day spent at the beach, I think I have made my final decisions.

Bookkung fu
Kung Fu : History, Philosophy, & Technique.

I grew up in a Kung Fu Studio.  I have a third degree black belt and can rank my own students.  For my very first black belt test I had to write  a thesis meets book report on David Chow’s book and its content.  I have never thought the assignment frivolous or regretted the requirement.  It’s a great book.  It’s an important book.  I make my own students read it as well.  In fact, I think my copy is on loan to a student right now.  Even if you aren’t a Kung Fu student, even if you’re knee deep into another style, even if you’ve never pursued any martial art in your life – this book is a valuable piece of history and helps explain a lot of those FAQs that arise when someone finds out you do Kung Fu.  It’s rich as well as concise and informative.  And leaps and bounds a better read than Kite Runner or Krakatoa – which are both excellent books.

Author

On this I have been so torn.  Kingsolver or Kafka?  Kafka? Kingsolver?  I couldn’t decide.  Metamorphosis is one of my favorite books of all time.  I have read it repeatedly.  It made the list of books that have changed my life.  But I have to say, Barbara Kingsolver has won my heart.  The Poisonwood Bible was beautiful and epic.  The Lacuna a fascinating concept.  I have almost all her books waiting on my shelf to be read and I find myself picking her up sparingly, not wanting to waste the moment of reading something of hers for the first time, saving her like I did my virginity.

kiss meSong

I could go old school with Roberta Flack’s “Killing Me Softly,” but although I love belting that song with my Alto-ness, I choose “Sixpence None the Richer’s Kiss Me.”  It’s not even because it’s about sweet kissing, which I love.  It’s all that bearded barley and green, green grass.  It’s frolicking and tree houses and treasure maps.  And the 90’s.  Written and performed by a group who references C.S. Lewis in their band name.

Film

I’m a sucker for all things King Arthur.  From the old Sam Neil movie “Merlin,” to Jamie Campbell Bower’s show “Camelot.”  I picked up all of Rosalind Miles’ Guinevere series, just because they are King Arthur related and have John William Waterhouse paintings on the front cover.  The Lady of Shalott hangs in  my living room over the fireplace.  Naturally, then, I’m choosing “King Arthur” for my K film.  More specifically, the version featuring Clive Owen and Keira Knightly.  I thought it was brilliantly done, I love that Guinevere is a warrior and not just a lady in distress, and the fight scenes are awesome.  Of course, part of my preference for this version is that Horatio Hornblower (ahem, I mean, Ioan Gruffud) plays Lancelot.

kitesObject

Kaleidoscopes are cool.  But I’m going to be cliche on this one and go with Kite.  Mostly because I have a three year old who is fascinated by them, but partially because I can’t see one without singing, “Let’s Go Fly a Kite” from Mary Poppins.  Sometimes in public.  With feeling.  At the top of my lungs.  I try to tell myself it’s because every choir girl has an inner Dick Van Dyke, but I’m not sure the rest of the world agrees with me.

Leave me a comment to keep this fun blog prompt going.

 

6 Comments

  1. Stefanie said,

    Loved your answers! I’d go with kite over kaleidoscope too. I have fond memories of kite flying when I was a kid and even a few as an adult (without children present). And Kung Fu! That is so awesome! I’ve been looking into local studios that offer Tai Chi because I’d like to learn it and one of them offers Kung Fu as well and with a full subscription I could take those classes too. Not sure that I will, but it’s possible. Perhaps I will read the book you chose because you have me curious!

    • Anakalian Whims said,

      Stefanie, oh fun! Tai Chi is great! Also, if you would like to participate in the blog chain, your letter is “x.”

    • Anakalian Whims said,

      I just realized you *are* So Many Books. I thought replies appeared under our blog names if we had one. (I kinda suck at technology.) Anyway – I was mentally going over X – which is an insane one – and couldn’t think of much. Have you read any books that start with X? Because I don’t think I have.

      • whisperinggums said,

        Replies appear under whatever you set it up to be Anakalian Whims. Mine is my blog name but my daughter, like Stefanie, uses her first name. You would have chosen it when you set up your blog. You can change your “display name” (which is different to your “user name”) under Users – My profile in your WordPress Dashboard (if you want to).

        Love your Ks by the way.

  2. raidergirl3 said,

    I found K hard to do for some categories. We didn’t share a single one! Very kewl though.

    • Anakalian Whims said,

      So funny! I’m a knife collector and for some reason it didn’t even occur to me to include that in my k’s!

Leave a comment