Changing Scenery

September 14, 2014 at 10:37 pm (In So Many Words)

With all my book reading and reviewing, all my cozy coffee and tea posts, and the hominess of my published work – one would presume that I was a homebody.  I don’t get nearly enough credit for my nomadic nature, and now I’m feeling it kick in as I leave my house of six and a half years for the unknown.

So how exactly does a “pack rat” and a “homebody” go from 2,000 square feet to 2 already furnished bedrooms and 5×15 storage unit?

You throw everything away.

Just kidding.

But no, really, you donate half of everything you own.  At least half.  Possibly more.  I’m not done yet, but I have taken several TRUCK LOADS of random things to Goodwill this week.  They know me now.

It’s invigorating.  A little bit scary.  A lotta-bit awesome.

This also brings me to my next point:  I’ve done it.  I’ve gotten myself a kindle.

While purging my stacks of “I might read this if I get cancer”  books, and donating everything I had already read and had no intentions of reading twice… after picking carefully through my paperbacks and gifting most of them because we prefer hardbacks and trade size paperbacks anyway… after all this cleansing, I thought, how can I continue to take hardcopies for reviews when 1. it’s more expensive for the author/ publisher 2. I’m not sure of my current address, or what it will be in the future. 3. I have no place to put the books once I’ve received them.

So I am now an ebook girl. (Post on this coming soon, because I’m proving to be an ebook moron.)

Don’t panic.  My extensive library still exists.  I managed to take about 1/4 of the books we’re keeping to our current digs and the rest are in my not-quite-big-enough-but-perfect-because-it-has-made-me-get-rid-of-crap storage unit.  My reading life just looks and feels a lot different than it used to.  I’m not lounging with my three dogs in a massive home library… I’m curled up on a small couch or possibly outside with my kindle.  Dogs are in limbo, unfortunately, but we love them and they will join us soon… just not inside… instead there’s an acre lot soon to be at their disposal.

All of this comes on the cusp of a new publisher, a new writing contract, and a return (temporarily) to working full time in a bookstore sometime next month.

All that, and I just started going through Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.  We completed Lesson 2 this morning.  Homeschooling is going to get really interesting this winter.  Husband, Kiddo, and Me have an interesting adventure ahead…

So, readers, what’s happening in YOUR lives?

9 Comments

  1. Meb Bryant said,

    I’m excited for you. Enjoy the adventure. When I was very pregnant, my hubby, our five-year-old daughter, a rat terrier, and a Christmas tree moved into my Dad’s MOTOR home while our new home was under construction. Now, I look back on those memories with joy. (We had to remove the steering wheel for the 36″ TV.)

    • Anakalian Whims said,

      I love it! That’s the most encouraging thing I’ve heard ALL month!

      • Meb Bryant said,

        I think your email address was lost when my computer fought with lightning and lost.
        May I gift you with my eBooks? Is so, privately give me the email address where you receive your eBooks and I’ll get them to you.

      • Anakalian Whims said,

        andiklemm@rocketmail.com I’m still learning how to get the ebooks onto my kindle though.

  2. Meb Bryant said,

    Andi, you should receive my five eBooks from Amazon. If you don’t, let me know and I’ll resend.

    • Anakalian Whims said,

      I got them! Thanks! I cannot wait to read and review them!

      • Meb Bryant said,

        Andi, the books were not for reviewing. They were to read and (hopefully) enjoy. Just read…relax.

      • Anakalian Whims said,

        Hahaha! But I LOVE reviewing your books 🙂 I promise to relax and enjoy them though.

      • Meb Bryant said,

        You relax? I’m holding you to that.

Leave a Reply

