Singing Kiddo

September 3, 2014 at 4:35 pm (Reviews) (, , , , , , , )

A Weekly Low Down on Kids Books

P1000289I remember singing a lot as a kid.  I was a choir girl.  I loved the oldies, I loved the nursery rhymes, I loved hearing my voice, I loved making noise, I loved it all.  I also loved books.

Kiddo is very much the same.  Instead of oldies, though, she listens to a lot of Michael Jackson.  I’m terrible about remembering old nursery rhymes, but we sing a lot of Disney music.  She adores a good book.

So when I found Sing With Me, I grabbed it on the spot.  I didn’t want kiddo to miss out on the childish songs.  The “Ants Go Marching” is fun! “Down by the Bay” = Awesome! “Skinamarinky Dinky Dink” is also a fantastic favorite.  But when I was faced with singing them with my kid, I couldn’t really remember them.  And apparently I’ve been singing all the wrong words to “Pop Goes the Weasel.”

Kiddo loves this book.  It came with a cd and we play it in our radio in the library of our house.  Sometimes we take it on car rides.  She likes flipping through the pages and following along with the lyrics.  The audio and visual word recognition at the same time (that I don’t have to do) is a nice break from reading all day.  We love it and I highly recommend it to other moms and teachers for their preschoolers.

P1000286

 

Leave a Reply

