The Ultimate Possession – a book by Byatt

November 4, 2012 at 3:57 pm (Reviews) (, , , , )

Title: Possession

Author: A.S. Byatt

Publisher: Random House

Length: 555 pages

Nothing can make you feel so inadequate as a writer as when you read a piece of such perfection that your own work cannot but pale in stark comparison. It’s possibly something like being the mediocre gymnast addicted to watching the Olympics, knowing that the athletic achievements they witness will not and cannot be their own reality.

Someone can write and write, practice with diligence, read, and surround themselves with excellence of the craft – but there is an element of giftedness that can only be handed down by the command of God.

A.S. Byatt is such a person graced with immense giftedness.

Possession is overwhelmingly and alarmingly riddled with her talent and sheer genius for the craft.

Prose, poetry, storytelling, she has it all and shares it with such ease. Nothing is forced, everything unfolds with the exquisite engineering of a flower in bloom, or a butterfly emerging from a cocoon.  Intricately beautiful.

How can a person contain so much talent?

I imagine hundreds of years from now archeologists and scholars will discover a copy and upon inspection will accuse the author of not being a lone writer – but a pen name used for a collective.  They will say the book is a collaborative effort between several poets, a journalist, a researcher, and possibly a novelist.  Someone would be supposed to offer their services as the voice of Christabel LaMotte, another as R. Henry Ash.  They may even miss the point altogether and believe it to be an actual account on a literary discovery, or a novelization of a literary discovery.

I think of myself as a writer.  I have unfinished stories, a three-quarters written novel or two.  I even used to attempt to write poetry – that was eons ago.  None of it is really any good.  I love words, but do not have the grasp and understanding of them to put them to proper use.  I do not have the finesse of a linguistic artist.  The words just linger muddled and puddled in my brain and sometimes my journals, fragments of fragments end up on this blog.  I always tell myself that I’ll be better when I’m older, but I never am.

The only thing I can claim with absolute truth, is that I am a reader.  As one reader to another, I must tell you, anyone who makes that claim cannot go through life without having read Possesssion.

3 Comments

  1. A Book Club Possessed… « Anakalian Whims said,

    […] already shared with you my thoughts on A.S. Byatt’s Possession, how the novel leaves me overwhelmed with inadequacy.  But […]

  2. Shauna said,

    At this time I am ready to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast
    coming over again to read additional news.

  3. My Classical Re-Education « Anakalian Whims said,

Leave a Reply

