Mid Week Thrifting

May 3, 2012 at 3:48 pm (The Whim) (, , , , , , )

I used to haunt thrift stores the way I currently haunt bookstores.  In late high school and early college, its where I picked up all my clothes.  There was nothing better than a 50 cent blouse and some $2 jeans.  Unfortuneately with the recession, thrift store clothing prices have increased to an amount that (unless its the world’s most awesome thrift store find) I can often find similar cheapy items for less at Wally World (sacriledge, I know).  In theory I hate WalMart, but sometimes a tight budget makes the decision for me.  But when my best friend says she wants to check out the newly reopened Goodwill Select in the Heights, I’m game.

Of course, I found dozens of things I wanted (there were piles of amateur paintings done by the same unknown person), but only came away with a few of the most inexpensive but longest lasting items money can buy: books.  I acquired a few nice copies of things off Ayla’s Classical Education list that I didn’t already have… Sophocles and such because I will need them eventually and haven’t seen copies in this nice a condition for this cheap.  It looks like someone dropped off an entire school library in mint condition.  And two things that aren’t as easy to find (not difficult, just not typically parading themselves around in large quanities):

Profiles in Science for Young People: Albert Einstein and the Theory of Relativity by Robert Cwiklik, perfect for ages 9-12, depending on your kid.  I want Ayla to grow up with accessible biographies.  I’ve already been collecting the DK biographies for kids and have about a dozen of them for various public figures, but its always exciting to pick up more, especially for 30% off $1.99.

Then, for me, I picked up The New Science of Strong Materials(or Why You Don’t Fall through the Floor) by J.E. Gordon. Also only $1.99, its from the Princeton Science Library and I can’t wait to read it!  I loved science as a child, and then had too many horrible public school teachers take all the excitement out of it (most of them seemed like people who wanted to do great things in their lives, but didn’t hack it in the science field, so decided to teach instead – and were very bitter about it).  So as an adult, I’m constantly seeking material to read that will help me learn the things I rebelled against as a teenager out of hatred, but in a way that I can enjoy the experience.  Therefore, a science publication in mint condition for $1.99 is Thrift Store Gold to me.

For more on the exciting world of thrifting, follow Her Library Adventures, she too has a mid-week thrifting notice this week: http://herlibraryadventures.blogspot.com/2012/05/midweek-thrifting.html

Leave a Reply

